Wed, 09/20/2017 - 15:09

The National Science Centre has announced the 14th edition of the OPUS and PRELUDIUM funding opportunities and the 1st edition of the Polish-Lithuanian DAINA programme. Scholars carrying out basic research will compete for a total of € 83.4 million in funding.The new call for proposals, DAINA 1, is a joint initiative of the National Science Centre and the Research Council of Lithuania (Lietuvos mokslo taryba, LMT). Under the scheme, funding will be made available to Polish-Lithuanian research teams conducting research in all disciplines. Projects to be carried out may last 24 or 36 months, and the principal investigator of the Polish team in the project must at least hold a doctorate. The programme’s budget has been set at ca € 1.9 million.

DAINA is yet another step on the path toward taking Polish research to an international level, which is an important element of the National Science Centre’s mission, said professor Janusz Janeczek, chair of the Council of the National Science Centre. The new call will be organised along similar lines to the highly successful Polish-German BEETHOVEN call. We hope that the use of a proven formula will contribute to closer cooperation with another neighbouring country and will strengthen the potential of the Polish and Lithuanian research communities.

The PRELUDIUM 14 call is addressed to researchers beginning their career in research, who hold no doctorate. It gives doctoral candidates the opportunity to independently run a one-, two- or three-year research project of their own. This edition’s budget has been set at € 9.58 million.

The last of the newly open calls, OPUS 14, is addressed to a wide range of applicants. The scheme is open to all researchers, regardless of their experience and academic degree. The funding received may be used for establishing a research team and purchasing equipment required in the research. There is no cap on funding for individual projects. The total budget is close to € 72 million.

Proposals must be submitted via the ZSUN/OSF system ( by 15th December 2017.